Where is Lethbridge? | Commercial Real Estate Stats | tecconnect | Site Selectors | Easy Move Package
About Us
About Us
Welcome from our CEO
Board of Directors
EDL Staff
Core Business Services
Contact Us

The number of days of sunshine Lethbridge has each year.

The Lethbridge Public Library serves an estimated 700,000 patrons each year in person, and more than 500,000 online.

 Home About Us Board of Directors
 Print  E-Mail

Board of Directors

Economic Development Lethbridge (EDL) is a community-based, non-profit organization led by a 25-member Board of Directors. EDL receives core funding from the City of Lethbridge and leverages those funds with initiative-based commitments from business and other government partnerships. EDL works to strengthen and develop the Lethbridge economy by initiating and facilitating proactive economic development strategies.

Meet our Board

The Board of the Lethbridge Economic Development Initiative Society (operating as Economic Development Lethbridge - EDL) governs the organization through established policies and protocol.  The appointed and elected members are drawn from a diverse cross section of the broader community with the intention to best accomplish the mandate and objects of the organization.

To fulfill the purpose of the organization, the Board undertakes the following:

  • Set the strategic direction for the organization through three-year business plans aligned with the municipal funding cycles
  • Present to City Council for approval, the three-year operating budget required to operate and manage the organization
  • Establish governance policies that support the mandate of the organization
  • Hire and evaluate the CEO

Economic Development Lethbridge Board Members are drawn from a diverse cross section of the community with the intention to best accomplish the mandate and objectives of the organization. EDL Board members provide direction and proactive leadership that encourages the private and public sectors to undertake programs and projects that will promote and foster economic growth in the region.  

Board Chair
Kurt Schlachter

Kurt was born and raised in Bow Island and attended the University of Lethbridge, completing his Bachelor of Science in Neuroscience with honors.  He has resided exclusively in Southern Alberta except for a three year period spent in Saskatoon completing his Law degree.  Kurt is currently a partner with Stringam Denecky LLP primarily practicing in Family Law and Civil Litigation while also maintaining a general practice which includes Real Estate, Personal Injury, Employment Law, Corporate / Commercial and Criminal matters. 

Kurt has served on the Board of the Southern Alberta Epilepsy Association and the Downtown Lethbridge BRZ where he learned the importance of both giving back to the community and being a voice within it.  He is currently an Executive Member of the Lethbridge Association of Collaborative Professionals and a member of the Lethbridge Masters Swim Club.  Kurt’s collective experience will be an asset to EDL.

Mayor Chris Spearman

Along with 38 years of business experience, Chris Spearman devoted 18 years (1992-2010) to serving on the Holy Spirit School Board which included two terms as Board Chair. He is a founding member of the Industrial Association of Southern Alberta, established in 1983, and during that time, he has been a vocal opponent of electrical deregulation in Alberta.
Chris has also been a member of the Lethbridge Chamber of Commerce since 2008 and has served on several sub-committees in that time. In addition, he served five years (2008-2013) on the University of Lethbridge Faculty of Management Advisory Committee, and since 2010, he has served as a board member for the Aboriginal Housing Society.

Past President
Walter Kalkan

Walter received his BA, Political Science from the University of Alberta in 1977.  He is currently the Director of Sales, Western Region for H&R Transport Ltd.  Walter has diverse knowledge and experience in all modes of private and commercial transportation within Western Canada and the U.S.  He has held various roles within the transportation industry and is conversant with transportation compliance and requirements.  He is an active member on the Alberta Infrastructure and Transportation Safety Board and the Alberta Conference Church Board Executive Committee.
Rob Crow
Glenn Coulter
Arts & Culture
Danielle Tait
Chamber of Commerce
Keith Greeno
City of Lethbridge Mayor
Chris Spearman

City of Lethbridge Councillor
Ryan Parker
City of Lethbridge Manager
Garth Sherwin
Lorna Peacock
Blayne Janssens
County / Airport
Steve Campbell
Bill Spenceley
Dennis Chinner
Terry Friesen
Lethbridge College
Dr. Paula Burns 

Newton Lupwayi
Jeff McLarty
Walter Kalkan

Mark Brown
Kevin Brees
Bill Hanson
Sarah Amies

Sports & Recreation
Kim Gallucci
Technical / Research
Fergus Raphael
Maria Milson Galeana
Dallas Sherwood
University of Lethbridge
David Hill

Economic Development Lethbridge
308 Stafford Drive South
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada   T1J 2L1

Phone: (403) 331-0022
Fax: (403) 331-0202
Toll Free: 1-800-332-1801

E-Mail: info@chooselethbridge.ca

Investment Inquiries Contact:
Heather McIntosh-Rivera, Director
Business Development & Operations

Phone: (403) 331-0022
E-Mail: heather@chooselethbridge.ca

Convention & Events Contact:
Erin Crane, Director
Meeting, Event & Partnership Development

Phone: (403) 331-0022
E-Mail: erin@chooselethbridge.ca

CHOOSE LETHBRIDGE | www.chooselethbridge.ca
Privacy & Terms of Use   Site Feedback   Search   Account Login   Contact Us
© 2015 Economic Development Lethbridge. All Rights Reserved.
Choose Lethbridge Home | Business | Livability | Convention & Events | Media Centre | About Us | Site Selectors